Events Calendar

Lakes Environmental Association offers outreach education programs throughout the year in the Natural Resources of the Lakes Region Series. The goal of our education series is to encourage a connection to place through explorations of the natural world. We believe that with a strong connection to place, an interest in environmental stewardship naturally follows.

All events are free to LEA members, except where special program costs apply. To become a member, click here. We encourage you to let us know you will attend by emailing alanna@leamaine.org or mary@leamaine.org. Programs are subject to change due to weather and minimum participation.

Guided walks and natural history presentations are part of the Natural Resources of the Lakes Region. This series is made possible in part through the support of Hu and Ray Caplan and their family, and in part by our members. The Caplans recognize the vital importance of education in all aspects of LEA’s work in protecting the Lake Region’s most important resource and asset: its bodies of water and watersheds. If you are interested in contributing to the education program please contact us!

You can always find out about events on our facebook page and through our homepage. Do you have some ideas of what you’d like to see? Please email alanna@leamaine.org to talk about some possibilities!

Click here to access a printable LEA calendar of events!

Questions about any event? Please email Alanna!

May:

May 8, Tues., 9-1, Project Wild Aquatic Teacher Workshop, $25. Register with Maine Audubon

May 9, wed., 8:30am, Field trip to ecomaine! Wonder where your waste goes? Come check this out!! Contact Alanna for more info and to register.

May 10, Thurs., 4-5 pm, Meet your District Forester, Shane Duigan. Bear Bones, Bridgton tasting room.

May 11, Fri., 7 am, Birding with LELT. Meet at the Bob Dunning Bridge.

May 15, Tues., 2-4 pm, Macroinvertbrates in Willet Brook. Meet at MLSC.

May 18, Fri., 9-11, Bird and Wildflower walk at Holt Pond, please register with Mary.

May 21, Mon., 3-4 pm. Family Nature Club, meet at the Bob Dunning bridge.

May 23, Wed., 9-11, Science for Kids: Life in a Drop of Water. MLSC, preregister with Alanna.

May 31, Thurs., 9-11, Wetland Plant Walk, meet at Holt Pond.

June:

June 1, Fri., 8:30- 12:30, Gravel Road Workshop, register with Christian.

June 2, Sat., 7 pm. The Importance of Spending Time Outside with your Kids: parent presentation at Spaulding Memorial Library in Sebago. For more info contact alanna@leamaine.org.

June 7, Thurs., 10- 1, Reptile and Amphibian walk with State Biologist Derek Yorks, MLSC, free for LEA members, $5 non-members. Register with Alanna.

June 12, Tues., 1-3pm, The Incredible World of Algae! Register with alanna@leamaine.org.

June 15, Fri., Volunteer Trail Cleanup Day- come one come all!

June 18, Mon., 4 pm. Sebago Family Nature Club walk, meet at Spaulding Memorial Library.

June 20, Wed., 9-2, GLLT and LEA hike and paddle, 5 Kezars, bring your own boat and sturdy hiking shoes for this joint venture!

June 21, Thurs., 2 pm, Family Nature Club, meet at Holt Pond preserve.

June 26, Tues., 6-7:30 pm, The Black Ghost black bear presentation with biologist Deb Perkins. Members $5, Non-members $10. Please register with Alanna.

July:

July 2, Mon., 4 pm. Sebago Family Nature Club walk, meet at Spaulding Memorial Library.

July 6, Fri. 9 am, Orchid Walk at Holt Pond, register with Mary@leamaine.org.

July 7, Sat., Paddle Battle! Register early!!

July 12, Thurs., 6 pm, Loon Presentation with Maine Audubon Biologist Susan Gallo. Free for members, $5 nonmembers, register with Alanna MLSC.

July 17, Tues., Volunteer Trail Cleanup Day- come one come all!

July 19, Thurs., 2 pm, Family Nature Club, meet at Holt Pond Preserve.

July 23, 24, 26, 27. Eco Explorers Kids Camp at the MLSC and Holt Pond. Registration required, please contact Mary or check out our website.

July 30, Mon., 4 pm. Sebago Family Nature Club walk, meet at Spaulding Memorial Library.

July 30, 31, and August 1, Lake, Pond and Stream ecology course, more information on our website.

August:

August 2, Thurs., 9-3, Volunteer Lake Monitoring workshop on Invasive Aquatic Plants. Registration required: Maine Volunteer Lakes Monitoring.

August 3, Fri., 1-3 pm Chewonki Bug Mobile and bug catching in Pondicherry. Members $5, nonmembers $10. Registration required, please contact Alanna.

August 6, 7, 9, 10. Eco Explorers Day camp at MLSC and Holt Pond. Registration required, please contact Mary or check out our website for more information.

August…? Mushroom walk, TBA.

August 8, Wed., 8-12, Build your own monitoring sensor! For more information and to register, visit our website.

August 13, Mon., 9-2, Teacher workshop: Macroinvertebrate Bioassessment for the classroom! Pre-register with Alanna.

August 13, Mon., 4 pm, Sebago Family Nature Club walk, meet at Spaulding Memorial Library.

August 14, Tues., 2-4 pm, Holt Pond Walk.

August 15, Wed., 2 pm, Family Nature Club, meet at Bald Pate Preserve.

August 16, Thurs., Northeast Aquatic Plants: plant id and field survey workshop. Registration required, please contact Mary.

August 27, Mon., 4 pm, Sebago Family Nature Club walk, meet at Spaulding Memorial Library.

September:

September 12, Wed., 2 pm, Family Nature Club, Meet at the Bob Dunning Bridge.

September 14, Fri., Volunteer Trail Day.

September 26, Wed., 10 am, Great Maine Outdoors Week hike at LEA’s Highland Research Forest. Register with Alanna.

More fall dates to come!

Lakes Environmental Association, 230 Main Street, Bridgton, Maine, 04009